Seasons Greetings and year end trends

2024 here we come!

Seasons Greetings!

Hi everyone! I hope all is well. I want to start this post with some information about focus. Research has shown that the human brain can not multi-task. You may think you can multi-task but in reality, you can’t. You can switch your focus on a single task very fast. It’s also been shown those who focus on one sole goal usually succeed more than those whose focus is spread out across many different goals or initiatives.

My focus in the summer and fall was on this. Making a fun exciting newsletter for y’all to stay up to date on my obsessions and world events. However, things have been changing for me and I’m still working on where to shift my focus for now. I love what I’ve started here and know consistency breeds results but so does straight-lined focus. So instead of leaving everyone in the dark, I will just say that for now until I can align my focus we are taking a break until 2024, where hopefully we come back stronger and better.

I love and appreciate everyone that’s been reading along and promise that when we come back next year it’ll be a blast. Before I leave for now I’ll give some hidden marketing tricks that may help you through the holidays.

  • For one most sales during the holidays are utter BS, there’s been countless tiktoks showing that “sale” prices during the holidays and the regular prices of things were the same price.

  • Advertisers and content providers know there are a lot more eyeballs on screens during the holidays hence trends like “vlogmas” or endless movie marathons are big around this time. However, it’s also the holidays the best way to avoid getting sucked into shopping madness is to do what the original intent of the holidays was. Spend time with friends and family.

  • If you really think you have trouble with spending through the holidays. One tip that can help is turning off one-click payment on your cards or un-saving your cards on websites or disconnecting Paypal. That extra step and time used to punch in your actual credit card info is time to double-think your order and decide if you actually need what you are buying. Much of online shopping during the holidays is based on impulse purchases. So if you can’t instantly buy on an impulse you have more time to opt out of the purchase.

  • Gift givers tend to undervalue their own time and effort vs buying a gift. Just because you made something with your own hands doesn’t mean it’s less valuable than buying something off a website. I’m sure you all can make something Etsy-worthy to give during the holidays. The same goes for buying local. Supporting the community is priceless, except for the price of whatever you buy.

  • Lastly, there’s been a growing trend of “Seasons Greetings” year-end items or specials to buy especially within influencer and music spaces. I can pretty surely say that these packages probably don’t have anything worthwhile in them unless you are a die-hard fan. To test this theory though I have gone ahead and bought some in the name of research to see if these “Seasons Greetings” box specials are worth it or just a sham. In the name of research though.

That’s all I got for now folks. Happy Holidays and see you all in 2024!